Strathcona County, Edmonton Alberta.

Call us for a free estimate on basement waterproofing services in the Strathcona county area of Edmonton. Local waterproofing contractors near you. 

(780) 628-1824

Strathcona County Specialized municipality Official seal of Strathcona County Logo Strathcona County is located in Strathcona CountySherwood ParkSherwood ParkFort SaskatchewanFort SaskatchewanArdrossanArdrossanJosephburgJosephburgSouth Cooking L.South Cooking L.North Cooking L.North Cooking L.Antler L.Antler L.Half Moon L.Half Moon L.Hastings L.Hastings L. Location within Alberta Location within Alberta Coordinates: 53°31′24″N 113°18′32″W Country Canada Province Alberta Region Edmonton Metropolitan Region Census division No. 11 - Municipal district 1943 - Specialized municipality January 1, 1996 Named for Donald Smith, 1st Baron Strathcona and Mount Royal Government[3] • Mayor Rod Frank • Governing body Strathcona County Council • Seat Sherwood Park Strathcona County is a specialized municipality in the Edmonton Metropolitan Region within Alberta, Canada between Edmonton and Elk Island National Park. It forms part of Census Division No. 11. Strathcona County is both urban and rural in nature. Approximately 73% of its population lives in Sherwood Park, which is an urban service area east of Edmonton remains an unincorporated hamlet. The balance lives beyond Sherwood Park within a rural service area. History In Treaty 6, the First Nations ceded their title to the land that would become Strathcona County. Local governance began in 1893 when the North-West Territorial Legislature established an area east of Edmonton as Statute Labour District No. 2.[6] It then grew in size over the following decade and was renamed Local Improvement District (LID) No. 517 in 1913.[6] In 1918, LID No. 517 became a municipal district under the name of the Municipal District (MD) of Clover Bar No. 517.[6] At the same time, the neighbouring LID No. 518 to the south became the MD of Strathcona